Not-Your-Ordinary Shrimp and Grits

I am super excited to share this recipe because my husband said it was my most creative, best recipe yet.  As I was sitting at work today thinking about what to cook for dinner, I knew it had to involve shrimp and butternut squash because that is what I had, but I wasn’t quite sure how I was going to put it together.  I also wanted to incorporate that sample coconut butter packet since I wasn’t very fond of the crumbled bit on my peanut butter and banana sammie the other day.  I think it was more the texture that bothered me.  Anyway, I found a way to bring all the ingredients together by putting a spin on the usual Shrimp ‘N Grits.  If you give the recipes a try, let me know what you think.   

Enter Cashew Coconut Shrimp and Butternut Grits with Parmesan and Rosemary.

DSC00871

Cashew Coconut Shrimp

Ingredients:

1 lb. shrimp, peeled and deveined

2 tbsp. olive oil

1 tbsp. coconut butter, softened

1/3 c. cornmeal

1/3 c. cashews

3 tbsp. flour

salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. Process cashews in food processor until a crumb-like consistency forms.

2. Pour cashews in medium bowl. Add cornmeal, flour, and salt and pepper to taste and mix thoroughly.

3. In separate bowl combine olive oil and coconut butter.  Mix until evenly distributed.

4. Season shrimp with salt and pepper.  Toss shrimp in oil mixture to coat.  Then pour shrimp into the cashew mixture and toss to coat evenly.

5. Spray broil pan with nonstick spray.  Put coated shrimp on pan.  Spray top of shrimp lightly with nonstick spray. 

6. Broil shrimp for 5 minutes on high watching carefully to not burn coating.  Rotate pan after five minutes.  Switch broiler to low and cook 2 minutes more with oven door open to be sure coating does not burn or until shrimp are cooked through. 

DSC00868

Butternut Grits with Parmesan and Rosemary

Ingredients:

1/2 butternut squash, peeled and cubed

1/2 c. quick cooking grits

1/4 c. parmesan cheese, grated

1 tsp. fresh rosemary, minced (more for garnish if desired)

salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. Fill medium saucepan with water to cover squash.  Bring to a boil and cook until fork tender about 15 minutes.  Drain.

2. Put 2 cups water in saucepan and bring to a boil.  Pour in grits and stir, lower heat, cover, and simmer 5 minutes.

3. Add squash to cooked grits along with remaining ingredients.  Use a wire whisk to mash squash and incorporate into grits mixture.

Enjoy!  To plate, spoon grits onto plate or bowl.  Top with shrimp and sprinkle additional rosemary if desired.

***********************************************************************

My other meals certainly do not top the meal above, but here they are.

DSC00858

I enjoyed a half of a toasted WW bagel topped with Maranatha peanut butter, sliced banana, spoonful of greek yogurt, and some Seedless Black Raspberry Preserves. And some mango green tea.

DSC00862 DSC00863

Lunch involved some of last night’s maple and brown sugar pork tenderloin.

DSC00867

I did heat the pork at work, but for picture purposes while packing it this a.m. here it is.  I served it on whole wheat bread with honey mustard, lettuce, and tomato.  The sandwich was pretty darn tasty; I am glad I stopped the husband from feeding the leftovers to the dogs.  Dessert included a sliced nectarine.  I also had a granola bar during after school tutoring, but no pic was snapped.

Well, I am off to fold laundry and finish up Idol.  Good Night!

One thought on “Not-Your-Ordinary Shrimp and Grits

Leave a Reply

