Sponge for Dinner

Don’t get me wrong.  This dinner had a lot of potential.  Who wouldn’t like layers upon layers of lasagna noodles, sliced eggplant, mozzarella, creamy ricotta-parmesan-egg mixture, and sweet tomato and basil sauce?  Well, maybe you wouldn’t, but I was looking forward to it.

So I prepped the pasta as I sliced and salted the eggplant to remove the bitterness (then rinsed) and proceeded to make layer upon layer in my baking dish.  After baking the dish in the oven for 45 minutes, it was time for eatin’. 

I cut out a hunk of steaming lasagna from the pan, plated it, and quickly snapped two photos as my hunger wouldn’t allow for anything more.

DSC00665 DSC00666 

First bite composed of carby pasta, salty cheeses, and sweet red sauce.  Yes, that is what I was longing for.  Second bite composed of carby pasta, salty cheeses, sweet red sauce, and *duhn.duhn.duhn*…..SPONGE.

What happened to the beautiful, purple eggplant I put in there?  Unfortunately, it did not dawn on me that a two week old eggplant would not maintain its freshness by being left in the fruit drawer.  Needless to say, dinner was a flop.  Don’t get me wrong; it had lots of potential.

Have you had any cooking failures lately or any successes for that matter?

4 thoughts on “Sponge for Dinner

  1. Pingback: $20 for $40 Worth of Fresh Italian Cuisine and Drinks at The Pasta Tree Restaurant & Wine Bar » Daily Couponds

  2. Pingback: $17 for $35 Worth of Upscale Italian Cuisine and Drinks at Dolce Amore Café | KomiDaily

Leave a Reply

