BBQ Turkey Meatloaf Remixed

DSC00414 Breakfast Cereal with 1/2 cup Kashi Heart to Heart, 1/2 cup Kashi Vanilla Wheat Squares, small sprinkle pecan praline granola, a few cinnamon almonds, sliced banana, 1/2 c blueberries, cup of lowfat milk

DSC00420

I had a meeting away from school today so I got to go to lunch out…a looong lunch out at McAlister’s Deli.  I ordered a cup of veggie soup and a half of the sweet chipotle salad. I also added some crackers to go with the soup.

mcal After dropping a friend at the airport I headed to the gym for 50 minutes of cardio and some light stretching.  I did 22 minutes on the stair climber and 30 minutes on the elliptical.

Then I headed home to make some BBQ Turkey Meatloaf, which was much better than I remembered after making a few changes to the original.  See my changes below.

DSC00428 DSC00424

I used half red bell and half yellow bell because that’s what I had.  I omitted the onion powder(because I am out), added 2 tsp. of curry powder, added 1 tbsp. garlic minced rather than garlic powder, added 2 tbsp. BBQ sauce to the mixture, and instead of store bought bread crumbs I crumbed my own in the processor from 2 slices whole wheat bread with ends removed.

BBQ Turkey Meatloaf

1-1 1/2 lbs. lean ground turkey breast

1 medium bell pepper, chopped (from our garden)

1 tbsp. minced garlic

2 tsp. curry powder

2 tbsp. hickory smoked mustard (dijon mustard may work too)

10 splashes of worcestershire sauce (more if desired)

1 whole egg

2 slices whole wheat bread, ends removed and processed into crumbs

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 c BBQ sauce (2 tbsp. mixed with meat; 2 tbsp for topping)

Directions:  Preheat oven to 350*.  Spray loaf pan with nonstick spray.  Mix all ingredients  except 2 tbsp. of BBQ sauce; hands work best.   Once mixed, put into loaf pan.  Top the loaf with  2tbsp. BBQ sauce.  Bake in oven for 45 minutes or until thermometer inserted reads 165*.

The result was a flavorful, tender loaf of ground turkey.  I had to go back for a second slice.  On the side, Chris and I split a baked sweet potato topped with a tsp. of Brummel & Brown and an oz. of reduced fat sharp cheddar.  Also, for some veg I blanched some green beans that were on their last leg about to be thrown in the compost pile. This dinner was delicious.

Currently, I am watching American Idol and there are some really great singers this season.  Have I ever mentioned how much I love to sing and when I was little I was often told how well I sang and forced to sing for friends and family.  I can still carry a tune, but due to lack of practice I don’t sing as well as I once did.

Are there any American Idol fans out there?

One thought on “BBQ Turkey Meatloaf Remixed

Leave a Reply

