Hi Salubrious Foodie Friends

Hope you haven’t missed me too much while I was away!  I know I sometimes get annoyed when I check a blog and it hasn’t been updated in a while.  Please forgive me! 

Last Wednesday, I attended the second EFNEP Advisory Board Meeting hosted by the LSU Agricultural Center.  You may remember me talking about it a while back.  The meeting was basically to share what activities have been taking place with high school students across Jefferson Parish as EFNEP and LSU promote nutrition and health.  At the start of the meeting I learned a new word, which will make you sound super smart when used on your healthy living blog or in everyday life as you aspire to be salubrious. ;)  Did you catch on to that?  My vocabulary has grown to include the new word salubrious, which is just a fancy schmancy word for healthy.  One of the members of the LSU Ag team made a point to say that he would now be finding as many ways as possible to work [salubrious] into his conversations which gave us all a laugh.

Aside from learning a new word, we were also able to sample some salubrious recipes including a salmon salad and a turkey hummus wrap.  I have eaten the latter of the two on quite too many occasions so that was nothing new, but I do plan on making the salmon salad in the future and I’ll share the recipes which have been tested and given nutritional breakdowns.

*******************************************************************

Today was a holiday, which I was completely thankful for with the week I had last week; with prayer and Lifesongs I got through it.  This morning I woke up with a craving for oatmeal, which I hadn’t eaten in about two weeks due to my being stuck on peanut butter and banana sandwiches instead.

DSC00030 

This bowl of creamy hot oatmeal hit the spot.  The mixture included:

~1/3 c each of old fashioned oats, 1% lowfat milk, and water

~salt, cinnamon, vanilla

~1 ripe banana, mashed

All heated up on the stovetop with:

~2 spoonfuls of cottage cheese stirred in

~1 spoonful of peanut butter

DSC00025 DSC00024 DSC00031

And a bowl of coffee on the side.

After breakfast my mom and I hit up the gym.  I did 15 minutes on the Precor elliptical and 17 minutes on the Stairmaster.  The session concluded with stretching and 10 minutes or so of abdominal work.  I did 2 sets of basic crunches (25 reps), 1 set of leg lifts (20 reps), 1 set of butt lifts (not sure of the exact name; 20 reps), 2 sets of torso twists with 6 lb weighted medicine ball(25 reps alternating sides), and a minute and a half plank hold.

Mom and I then headed to Phil’s Grill for lunch followed by a trip to the theatre to see Black Swan.  I had a veggie burger on a jalapeño bun with herbed goat cheese and a side of fried pickle chips.  I ate 3/4 of my own burger plus 1/4 of Mom’s beef burger.  The veggie burger had too much breading and was nothing to wow over.  I did enjoy the sour pickle chips though. 

Okay, I am still unsure about the Black Swan and thinking back on some of the scenes still makes me a bit squeamish.  It was certainly not the uplifting kind of movie, but the acting was superb. 

After all of the popcorn, I wasn’t hungry so waited a while before deciding on what to cook for dinner.  I finally decided upon spaghetti with a shrimp creole type of sauce.  I simply used jarred tomato sauce and doctored it up.

DSC00038  

First I sauteed a chopped bell pepper, onion, and garlic in olive oil.  Next, I added the shrimp to cook until pink.  The sauce was added along with Chinese red pepper, basil, oregano, italian seasoning, salt and pepper, and two stevia packets to cut the acidity and tang of the sauce.  That simmered about 30 minutes until we were ready for eatin’.  It turned out delicious served over whole wheat spaghetti, topped with grated Romano cheese. 

DSC00035

DSC00037

I also had a handful of sweet, cold strawberries, but no picture was warranted since I ate them as I rinsed them.

Have you seen the Black Swan?  What are your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Hi Salubrious Foodie Friends

Leave a Reply

