Have It Her Way

I had a hard time sleeping all last night, so this is going to be a quick post because I should be getting to bed since the holidays are over and work resumed today.  I had to leave extra early for work to pick up the presenter for our staff development today so breakfast was thrown together super fast.

DSC01576  

Peanut butter, banana, and cinnamon on whole wheat toast + Chai Tea

 

Throughout the day at work I did not snap pictures of my eats because I just didn’t want to since I was among all of my coworkers.  I stopped and got a Grande Skinny Vanilla Latte before work since I didn’t have time to have coffee at home.

For lunch a few coworkers and I went to Wendy’s for lunch.  I decided on the Grilled Chicken Sandwich, but requested a regular bun instead of the larger kaiser roll they usually put it on.  On side I ate a side salad with light ranch dressing without the croutons.

Now, you may be wondering, “Why switch the bun?”  Well, according to the Hungry Girl, Lisa, she requests swapping out the larger bun for the regular bun which saves nearly 100 calories (if you are counting).  Hungry Girl has other recommendations for surviving the fast food pitfalls.  I am not advocating eating fast food everyday; however, there are healthy options if you know what and how to order.  For Hungry Girl’s Survival Guides on a few fast food joints, click the links below.

After dropping the presenter off at the airport, I headed home to eat a peanut butter cookie and take a much needed nap.

DSC01578

Once awaken by the dogs, I decided on making bean enchiladas for dinner.  I used canned low sodium black beans combined with cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper, water, one laughing cow light swiss wedge, and a small amount of shredded cheddar jack to make the filling.  The enchilada sauce was also made using a combination of ketchup, water, and several different spices heated on the stovetop.  (Chris liked the sauce, but I wasn’t fond of the sweetness the ketchup provided; canned tomato sauce would have been better.)  Using whole wheat tortillas, I stuffed four enchiladas with the bean mixture, some leftover brown rice from the fridge, and a small amount of cheese.  I then folded them up and topped them with the sauce and a little more cheese.

DSC01581

They were then baked for 15 minutes until heated through.  I topped my enchilada with a dollop of greek yogurt and made some sautéed spinach for an added side of veggies.

DSC01584DSC01585 DSC01589

Do you have any nutrition tips you follow when dining out?

2 thoughts on “Have It Her Way

Leave a Reply

