Mission Accomplished

Today I employed a couple of cooking techniques which proved to be successful.  First off was breakfast.  After my previous failure attempt to poach an egg, I made a second attempt this morning.  And it worked like a charm using these directions including the optional vinegar.  I served the poached egg over leftover roasted asparagus from last Thursday.  Along side I had a toasted wheat english muffin lightly buttered and a large cup of joe.

DSC01403 DSC01406 DSC01408 DSC01410

Oh my yum!  The yolky taste was so delicious; I normally overcook my fried egg so I think this may just be a new favorite way to cook an egg even though it takes a little longer to allow the water to come to a boil.

Lunch was enjoyed at the mall with Mom, Sis, and my nephew and niece.  I ordered a falafel panini with a side salad from Byblo’s Mediterranean Cafe’. 

IMG_0351

I ate half of the actual pita, but just about all of the falafel and hummus filling with the Greek salad.

On our way home from the mall, we stopped at the Buck’s to get some coffee, and I needed it cold because I was feeling hot and sick.  I think it may have been due to not hydrating as much as I normally do.  I’ve been slacking on drinking my eight glasses of water.  (I have consumed more than six cups since I’ve been home now so maybe I was dehydrated.)

DSC01412

I ordered a tall nonfat mocha frappucino, hold the whip.  It totally cooled me down and made my mood better.

Eggplant Parmesan

1 large eggplant

2 eggs, beaten and seasoned with salt/pepper

1-2 cups panko bread crumbs, italian flavored

1/4 pound shredded provolone

For dinner tonight I had plans for a healthified eggplant parmesan provolone.  I began by slicing the large eggplant into half inch slices or so.  I then sprinkled each slice with salt to let out some of the bitter liquids.  After about ten minutes, I rinsed the eggplant and patted it dry.  The eggplant was then dredged in seasoned egg wash and italian flavored panko bread crumbs.  The slices were placed on a baking sheet lined with foil and cooking spray.  Each  slice was sprayed with cooking spray prior to placing the pan in a preheated 400* oven. 

After 15 minutes I flipped the slices to cook 5 minutes more.  Each slice was then sprinkled with shredded provolone.  Finally, the slices baked 2 more minutes just until the cheese was melted.  The eggplant provolone was served over whole grain spaghetti with some doctored up tomato basil sauce with a sprinkle of chopped spinach for color mainly because I went to get some basil from the garden and found that Chris must have dug up the basil plants because they were no longer there.

DSC01415DSC01417 DSC01413 DSC01419 DSC01414

Dinner was a successful mission accomplished.  It was delicious and much better than fried eggplant, but still as crispy using the panko breading.

My sweet craving settled in shortly after dinner, so I had a couple of sweet treats to satisfy my taste buds.

DSC01420

And one of the forgotten cookies I received from a coworker for Christmas.

DSC01423 

Have you had any cooking successes lately?  Do tell!

8 thoughts on “Mission Accomplished

  1. mmm love poached eggs. the yolk does taste really good with just a dash of salt and pepper.

    i have had those mousse cups but do not get any joy out of them. i feel like i’m eating chocolate air!

    • I agree with you on the mousse cups and was thinking that as I was eating it, but saw it at the store and wanted to try the mint flavor. A while back I read on hungry girl . com to freeze them which I’ve done in the past and they’re much better frozen. My husband even likes it frozen, but he eats two cups at a time. 😉

Leave a Reply

