Chocolate Chip Dough Balls + Sante Fe Ravioletti Soup

It has been a lazy, yet busy weekend.  On Friday I spent all day Christmas shopping which had me ravenous on Friday.  I did not take pictures of everything, but I did eat fast food since I was on the go; I had Subway and Wendy’s for lunch and dinner and breakfast was eaten at home before leaving for the mall. 

On Saturday, I started out on the right track by getting in an hour and ten minute workout with 30 minutes of weights and forty minutes of cardio.  After that, I came home to find my husband playing Sudoku (which he has a current addiction to).  I played along with him for a good part of the day.

DSC01110

We discovered that we can play on the television with our new ATT U-verse account using the remote.  So after several hours of that, I visited my mom, sister, and nephew and niece late into the night.

Per Chris’s request, Sunday started out with bacon, egg and cheese sandwiches.DSC01121

Our sandwiches were topped with center cut bacon, laughing cow light swiss, and scrambled egg.   Hot coffee was sipped along side.

DSC01123

Shortly after heading to the grocery store, I made a simple salad with some boiled shrimp I bought. 

DSC01128

A bed of spinach was topped with shrimp, reduced-fat feta, tomatoes, and a drizzle of EVOO and balsamic vinegar.

DSC01129

The salad was simple, yet delicious.  But I still wanted to try the Silk Nog drink I had just purchased along with a piece of dark chocolate.

DSC01125 DSC01132

Tonight, hub and I planned dinner from a Weight Watchers magazine filled with 15 minute meals.  We agreed upon the Sante Fe Ravioletti Soup. 

The soup is basically a throw-it-in & heat-it-up kind of meal aside from cooking the chicken.  The recipe actually called for Tyson chicken pieces, but I opted to brown chicken pieces that I chopped from chicken breast tenderloins.  It is certainly easy and quick enough to do so still within the fifteen minute or so range.  So I followed the recipe other than the order in which I threw things into the saucepan, but all in all it was a tasty and spicy soup.

DSC01134

Basically, into the pot went chicken, a tsp. of minced garlic, 2 cans chicken broth, Buitonni Three Cheese Ravioletti, 16 oz. medium salsa (use mild if prefer less spicy), can of rinsed and drained black beans, and a 1/4 cup chopped cilantro.  The soup was topped with a dollop of light sour cream as the recipe stated to do.  Quick, tasty, and only 234 calories per 1 1/4 cup serving or 4 points if on the Weight Watchers diet (which I have no clue about.

Tomorrow, my coworkers and I are having a potluck luncheon.  I signed up to bring pinwheels as an appetizer.  A friend mentioned that the Sam’s Club sold them pre-made, so to save time and energy, Mom (who is a member of Sam’s much like Costco) took me to pick up the pinwheels.  I set them on a silver platter with parsley and tomato garnish and they look quite festive if I do say so myself.

DSC01137 DSC01143

120 pinwheels later I decided to bake.  And guess what I wanted?  Diana’s chocolate chip dough balls. 

DSC01154 These.are.so.yummy.  Thank you Diana for coming up with them.  I don’t know who Annie the Baker is or what her dough balls taste like, but these are SUPER.

DSC01157

I followed the recipe exactly, except I used bittersweet chips, because I was all out of semi-sweet—really no big thing still great!  Oh and I only refrigerated for ten minutes cause I was too impatient to wait.

DSC01144

My dough balls were ready at exactly 12 minutes where they reached 160* on the nose according to my meat thermometer.

DSC01159 Sweet, Chocolatey, Doughy, Goodness

Try them; I did!

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Dough Balls + Sante Fe Ravioletti Soup

  1. Pingback: 3 Reasons I Dislike Shopping During the Holidays « The Healthified Haven

  2. Pingback: Cows in a Pot « The Healthified Haven

Leave a Reply

