Not in the Mood

Last week I was just in a bit of a funky mood and did not feel like blogging.  Monday started off badly with a rainy drive to work (which I really did not want to be there) and the rest of my week seemed to follow in the same footsteps, which may have been partly because of the monthly joy of womanhood leaving me an emotional nutcase. ;)  I did not work out as much as I hoped to having to stay late at work two days this week; nor did I eat as healthily as I wanted to—both left me feeling down on myself.  

I ended up working out over an hour after work on Friday and did not have a snack and was beyond hungry when I got home.  Poor planning led to poor dinner choices.  So Friday night I ate way too much fried fish and shrimp along with fries, hush puppies, french bread, and gumbo.  The meal came with cole slaw, but I didn’t bother eating the little veg that was included.  I succumbed to eating for pleasure not for hunger because I was completely stuffed at the halfway point, but I continued until nothing was left.  The point being I still have weak moments and I cannot let that get me down.  I just have to pick back up and move on.

Saturday and Sunday were slightly better.  Actually Saturday was a lazy day aside from getting out of the house with Chris to go see 127 hours, based on the true story about the man who went hiking alone and had to end up cutting his arm off to free himself from the boulder.  Chris thought it was slow, but I enjoyed seeing him overcome his fears and survive. 

Oh yeah, I did bake some muffins on Saturday morning.  I am not going to share the recipe though because although they are muffins and edible and flavorful, I was not fully satisfied.

DSC00785

Here are the ingredients I used including dates, pecans, dark chocolate chips, and oatmeal.

DSC00789

On Sunday I started with breakfast including sandwich thin, fried egg, turkey sausage, and coffee.

DSC00801 DSC00803

Behind the scenes, the part you don’t see.

DSC00805

…a broken sandwich thin.

Shortly after breakfast I ate a muffin for my pre-workout snack.

DSC00788 

I headed to the gym for some cardio.  I started with 20 minutes on the stair stepper, 20 minutes on the bicycle, and 20 minutes on the elliptical.  I ended with some stretching.

I then stopped at the grocery store on a hungry stomach so I spent more than intended.  When I got home I made some kale chips and a tuna melt.

DSC00815

The kale leaves were tossed in olive oil, sea salt, and pepper.  They were then roasted at 375* for 18 minutes until crispy.

DSC00811 

For my sandwich made from fresh baked country wheat bread (quite difficult to cut) I mixed a can of tuna with chopped celery, a tbsp mayo, a tbsp greek yogurt, and a little mustard.  I topped it with sharp cheddar and tomato to be heated on the panini press.  Twas delicious!!

DSC00813

I finished up lunch by munching on the other half of my starburst pummelo from last night’s snack after the movie; it’s much like a grapefruit, but less acidic according to the sticker.  It seemed to have a much thicker rind as well.

DSC00818

Now I am debating whether or not I want to make this easy chicken and sausage gumbo recipe a coworker gave me.  It is definitely cold enough outside to have gumbo due to the weather having changed drastically early this a.m. and I did not want to go outside all day.  Here’s to a better week!

3 thoughts on “Not in the Mood

Leave a Reply

