A Quick Fix

Due to my working late last night at our Cajun themed Family Literacy Night to promote reading and writing, I did not get home til 8:30.  Though I was hungry (I did have a small taste of the jambalaya that was handed out at about 4:30) by that time, I just wanted something quick yet not too much that I would feel sick for bed.  So I went with Caitlin’s suggestion of a steamed sweet potato topped with baked beans.  I did not even snap a picture because my husband told me it did not look good, but I assure it tastes good.  I also had two lemony flavored fleur de lis shaped cookies that i brought home from the event.  Again, no picture. 😦

Looking back on Tuesday’s dinner, it was a quick, tasty dinner.  I prepared a pork loin served with cheesy Harvest Grains Blend from Trader Joe’s (mom picked it up in Chicago) aside steamed veggies. 

DSC00509 DSC00511 DSC00514

I followed the instructions for baking the lemon-garlic flavored loin by cooking at 350* for 45 minutes until the meat thermometer registered to 165*.  It was moist and tender.

For the grains, I cooked them according to the package directions by adding a tsp. of Brummel & Brown and simmering covered ten minutes.  For a cheesy addition, I heated up 1/4 cup lowfat milk, 1/4 cup fat free greek yogurt, and 1/2 cup applewood smoked cheddar cheese.  I did not care for the cheese on its own but once added to the couscous, orzo, bean, quinoa mix; it added a nice smoky flavor which Chris thought was bacon.

As for some of my other meals, the past two days for your viewing pleasure:

DSC00502

Hummus and Veggie Sammie with Babybel Light

DSC00506

Tuesday Lunch along with a Chobani Yogurt while home with the cable guy.

And Wednesday…..Breakfast Sammie of Peanut Butter, Sliced Peach, and Cinnamon

DSC00527

Lunch contained some leftover cheesy grains + Fage Greek and Honey Yogurt

DSC00529 

I once again will have a late night at work, but only until six tonight.   So dinner will likely be something picked up or a quick salad, maybe eggs.  I don’t know.

What is your favorite quick fix dinner for those late night meals?

2 thoughts on “A Quick Fix

  1. That Harvest Grain Blend looks great! We don’t have a Trader Joe’s in Upstate NY either 😦

    My favorite quick fix dinner is a can of soup and some crackers. It doesn’t get much faster than that plus the clean-up is simple.

Leave a Reply

