A Weekend of Frolic and Food

The weekend could not come soon enough.  I was so ready for it to arrive.  My Friday night began with babysitting my niece and nephew with the help of my mom; so my sister, Michelle, and her husband, Duke, could spend the night out with friends celebrating Duke’s birthday.  How could I not have a good time frolicking around with this little guy and girl and eating pizza?

IMG_0262

And because she is too cute not to  show, my niece!

IMG_0269

While I was babysitting my niece and nephew, my husband did a little babysitting of his own.  He babysat his twin nieces and even captured a little video of his endeavors.  He sent this video to me saying “Help!” 🙂

 

He had his hands full between the two twin girls.  And in  case you were wondering, Abby immediately got up without a tear in her eye, hugged her uncle, and then became angry with him for capturing it on video.  She quickly got over it though.

Aside from babysitting, I did not make the best decisions with my eating habits for the past couple of days.  Some of my meals (or lack thereof) consisted of pizza, tacos, french fries and more.  But, I know tomorrow I will be back to a more normal  schedule and making better choices.

On Saturday, I started my day off with coffee and homemade french toast and turkey sausage links.

DSC00461

To make three slices of french toast (2 for hub and 1 for me) I whisked:

~2 eggs

~1/4 tsp vanilla

~1/2 tsp cinnamon

~1 stevia packet

~1/4 c lowfat milk

I then I soaked the slices and cooked them for 3-4 minutes per side in a nonstick pan sprayed with cooking spray.  For topping the toast, I sliced a banana and browned it in a nonstick pan sprayed with butter flavored cooking spray, which allowed the sugars in the banana to come out and caramelize adding a nice flavor to the sweet breakfast.  All was sopped up with some  pure maple syrup drizzled over the top.

DSC00463  DSC00464

Shortly after breakfast I met Mom for a workout, lunch, froyo, and yes, another craft fair selling mostly the same stuff as the one last week minus all the dips and jams.

I wasn’t too hungry for lunch so I chose an appetizer of baked pretzels with queso dip.

IMG_0271

I had two of the pretzels and brought the rest to Chris, but ended up eating some of a third pretzel with him later on in the day.

After the craft fair Mom suggested we get some Tutti Fruiti Frozen Yogurt.

IMG_0274

I had cake batter and s’mores flavored yogurt with mochi cakes, reese’s, cheesecake bites, pineapple and kiwi.  I just can’t get enough of this stuff and am always game if someone suggests we get it. 🙂

Dinner was some tacos from a fast food joint per hub’s request. So I scarfed two of them down with little hesitation.

DSC00466

On Sunday Michelle scooped me up to go watch her nephew’s football game shortly after I ate breakfast.  I had some steel cut oats cooked on the stovetop with banana, vanilla,  and stevia.

DSC00469

I added granola, peanut butter, and sweet potato pecan butter after cooking.

DSC00472

Lunch was not the greatest combination—pumpkin spice latte plus french fries from my nephew’s snack, so an early dinner was eaten.  My sister’s family, Chris, and I all joined at Houston’s for dinner.

We HAD to start with the spinach and artichoke dip.  It is the one thing I must have if going there.  It is SO good.  People claim to have the “Houston’s recipe,” but no one has ever recreated that tasty, cheesy goodness.

IMG_0275

For my entree I tried the Veggie Burger with purple cabbage and goat cheese.

IMG_0276

Mmmmm! My two year old nephew, Jett, enjoyed eating this with me.  I ate the entire [burger] but only half the bun since Jett decided to take the top of my bun and the tomato off one half to enjoy for himself.  As for the rice and oat made burger, it was quite tasty with the added hickory sauce that was mixed in.  And the cabbage was just as good, though I am not a big fan of the goat cheese clumps that was put on top.

Now I need to get some rest for the long week ahead.  I am not looking forward to this week because I have to work late two nights this week.  Waaahhhh!  I hope it goes by fast, not that I am trying to wish my life away, just looking forward to my break! :) 

2 thoughts on “A Weekend of Frolic and Food

Leave a Reply

