Grew Dat!

Happy Halloween!  I’m not much of the “dress up and party all night person.”  I think the last time I dressed up was as a Junior in high school.  My friends and I were all roaches and one of the more dramatic, comedic friends was the can of Raid.  Fun memory!

Chris (my husband) works almost every Saturday so we rarely get to enjoy a night out on the town regardless of Halloween although it may be fun on occasion.  For the most part I am a homebody, but being home today just left me in a funky, unhappy mood.  I think it largely had to do with the fact that I knew so many others were out and about celebrating Halloween, attending VooDoo Fest, and getting pumped up for some “Who Dat’in” with our Saints tonight!

My day started early with some pumpkin spice coffee and a giant pancake.

DSC00114  DSC00115 DSC00117 DSC00118

I used 1 serving of Bisquick Heart Smart, an egg, 1/4 cup lowfat milk, and a teaspoon or so of peanut butter for the pancake.  I topped it with Greek Yogurt, Black Seedless Raspberry Preserves, and a few blueberries.  Those other small broken pieces are from dried banana sheets Mom brought me from Trader Joe’s Chicago.  The ingredient list says “bananas.”  It is much like the texture of a fruit roll-up.  My pancake was a little overcooked on the other side, but it hit the spot.

Shortly after breakfast I went to Lafreniere Park to get in some cardio.  I jogged/walked 4 miles total.  Once around the track is 2 miles so I did it twice.  My first two miles were done in 24:34 and the second two took a little longer at 28:15.  On average, that is a 13 minute mile.  Not great, but hey it’s exercise.  And like I said before, I’ve never been much for running, though I am starting to enjoy seeing what my body can do.

Once I got home I helped Chris install our new dishwasher.  Well, not brand new, but new to us.  Some close friends gave us theirs since they upgraded.  The dryer component on my old one went out so it was time for a new dishwasher anyway.  I just didn’t want to fork out the money because I hope to remodel my entire kitchen in the near future. 

By the time we were done my stomach was screaming for some food.  I blanched some green beans after snapping the ends off and ate half of a Think Thin Bar while waiting.  I added pre-cooked shrimp defrosted from frozen, mushrooms and made an Asian sweet and spicy sauce to mix all together.

DSC00123 DSC00121 DSC00119

To make the sauce I cooked down low sodium soy sauce, honey with macadamia nuts, rice wine vinegar, dry sherry, garlic powder, red pepper flakes, water, and a pinch or two of flour.  I did not measure, but went along making additions by taste and consistency.  In the process of tasting I seriously burnt the heck out of my inner lower lip so be careful if using the “flavor as you taste method.”  I then tossed the shrimp, beans, mushrooms, and sauce in a saucepan until heated through.  Chris liked the sauce enough to suggest I make more to go with the fish he prepared later in the day for dinner, but I wasn’t feeling it enough to put over fish.  Maybe chicken or pork, but I don’t know about fish.

I had a Fage Honey Greek Yogurt for some snacking.  DSC00124  

Okay, my snacking did not stop there, but I did not take pictures of it all.  I also had some more coffee, a reduced fat colby jack cheese stick and some of this (maybe too much of this).

DSC00150

Had to get it just in case we get some trick-or-treaters!

Chris harvested some of his veggies this afternoon–sweet taters!  While I snapped pictures.

DSC00127

He also came up with this post’s title.  As a who dat fan, he wanted you all to know that he “grew dat!”

DSC00134  DSC00131 DSC00135 DSC00137 DSC00138

Yesterday, hub went fishing and caught some speckled trout, so fish and of course sweet potatoes were on the menu.  Chris fried the fish in “buerre noisette” or brown butter after dredging in egg and flour. 

DSC00141

Usually we are not very good at frying fish, but it came out crispy and tasty tonight.  We ate baked sweet potato fries and steamed brussel sprouts on the side.

DSC00140 DSC00144DSC00146  DSC00147 DSC00148

I would have preferred baked trout to forego all the butter used, but it was a nice treat to not have to be in charge of cooking dinner and have fried fish—which is a favorite around this city.

Okay, I am off to watch the second half of the Saint’s game.  Who Dat Say They Gonna Beat Dem Saints?  Not the Steelers! 

Don’t forget to let me know which symbol you associate with from the Personality Symbol Test.  Check back tomorrow for what the symbols represent.

Good Night and Stay Safe! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Grew Dat!

Leave a Reply

