She Made Me Over and I Made Her Oatmeal

I’ve been going to the same hair stylist my entire life since birth and actually did not step foot in a salon to get my hair done by someone else until my wedding day.  Thankfully, Mom has been in the industry for over 29 years.  Yesterday I went to Mom’s house to get my hair colored and cut because I had so many grays peering through at the front of my hair line.  What can I say?  It runs in the family (on dad’s side).  Take ‘em or leave color ‘em, right.  ;)  She also cut it a little bit, but I’m still not sure if I want to go short like the picture to the right.  That was summer of 2009 and it has grown out a bit since then.  No pictures of the new hair cut yet because I honestly haven’t really fixed it.  Maybe I’ll get to that at some point this week. 

In exchange for the hair cut, well not really an exchange, more so because neither one of us had eaten breakfast I whipped up a batch of oatmeal.  Turns out that old fashioned oats are so.much.better.cooked.on.the.stovetop.  They get much thicker and creamier.  I did it that way last Friday and man oh man was I missing out by cooking them in the microwave.  Not to mention I lost half of the serving in the microwave anyway.  DSC02206 Sunday Oats for Mom and I

DSC02219 In the mixture for two:

  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 1 banana mashed
  • 1 tbsp. maple syrup
  • cinnamon

All of that was heated on the stovetop simmering for about 5 minutes while stirring.  Then I added the following to each serving:

  • 1 tsp. cinnamon raison peanut butter
  • 1 tsp. seedless black raspberry preserves (got Mom to buy this from the other day’s post)
  • sprinkle of oat and honey granola

DSC02217 

Plus some coffee on the side.

DSC02210 DSC02216

Onto this morning….

For breakfast this morning I attempted to make a layered parfait layering Fage Honey Greek Yogurt and some of the Pumpkin Bread I made yesterday because I had canned pumpkin opened in my fridge (Hub gave some to the dogs mixed into their dog food) and wanted to use it up.

DSC02237 DSC02235 Mango Black Tea + Pumpkin Yogurt Parfait

DSC02241 Pumpkin Bread

DSC02234

Those dark brown spots are where I failed to mix in the dark brown sugar because it was so hard and chunky, but it turned out just fine.  My hub ate two huge chunks right off the cooling rack.

Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1 cup dark brown sugar packed

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ginger

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 cup canola oil

1 tbsp. butter, melted

1 egg

1 cup canned pumpkin

1/4 cup cinnamon almonds or other nuts, crushed (I used Trader Joe’s cinnamon almonds)

Directions: Preheat oven to 350*.  Spray bread pan with cooking spray.  Mix all ingredients through salt in mixing bowl.  Mix canola oil through pumpkin in separate bowl.  Combine the two mixtures and stir until evenly distributed.  Fold in crushed almonds.  Pour into pan and bake for 55 minutes to an hour until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

DSC02232 

I continuously opened the oven from 30 minutes up to 60 minutes, so it may have taken longer than it needed to.  By the end of the hour, it was done.

For lunch today I ran to the grocery to pick up a bite to eat since I rushed out the door this a.m. without a lunch.  I really went to the store to get some of the pre packaged sushi rice rolls, but they were all out.  So I opted for a chef salad, fruit, light blue cheese dressing to replace the ranch it came with ( nowhere near as good as Ruth’s Chris dressing), and a Diet Dr. Pepper (just one of those quick check-out decisions which I only drank half of and stuck the rest in the fridge in my classroom).

DSC02242

DSC02245 I had to pick through the lettuce because it was brown and old.

DSC02244

No joke, I lost half my grapes on the floor trying to get into this packaging—sheesh!  I did leave some of the melon in the fridge, but ate most of the other stuff.

Okay, so lunch wasn’t all that great, more of a fail actually.

After work I made my way to the gym without a snack, but I wasn’t all that hungry.  I completed 15 minutes on the bike to start, 25 minutes of weights with very little rest time between sets, and 15 minutes more on the bike.  My quads and hamstrings are still sore from the race on Saturday so cardio was very light on intensity.

Once home I heated up some of my Round II Recipe concocted on Saturday with leftover chicken from my Spin on Mexican.

DSC02150

Saturday Photo Shoot of Lunch

On Saturday for lunch, I gave the chicken a little makeover of my own turning it into a quesadilla of sorts.  I took the leftover breast, chopped it up, threw it along with half a can of reduced sodium black beans, cumin, chili powder, and garlic powder plus a tiny bit of water.  I then layered the heated mixture between two fat free tortillas with some salsa verde.  I topped it with peach salsa and two crumbled reduced fat colby jack cheese sticks (one used on the inside and one used for the top).

DSC02139

DSC02143 

I then baked it for ten minutes or so.

DSC02147

DSC02146

I had 1/4 on Saturday and 1/4 tonight along side a scrumptious salad.

DSC02247

Salad included:

  • spring mix
  • roasted butternut squash (also from last week)
  • sliced baby portabella mushroom cap
  • tbsp. feta (reduced fat)
  • cinnamon almonds
  • honey drizzle

DSC02249

DSC02254

Mmmmm, mmmmm, mmmmm, tasty!

I think I’m going to have some more pumpkin bread before the night end.  Perhaps with a schmear of peanut butter since I haven’t had any yet today!?!

Question of the Night: What do you tend to do with leftovers?  Eat them? Toss them? Remake them into something new?

My vote is for Round II Recipes all the way.  I watch Sandra do that all the time on Food Network’s Semi-Homemade and Money Saving Meals.  Good idea for sure!

Leave a Reply

