EFNEP

Today I had the opportunity to sit in on the Louisiana State University Ag Center’s Expanded Food & Nutrition Education  Program (EFNEP) Advisory Board meeting.  On Monday I was invited to be a part of this leadership committee for the Parish of Jefferson.  I, only being a teacher, felt somewhat out of place sitting in on a meeting with Vice Presidents and Executives of local business entities.  However, I enjoyed being included. 

The program’s purpose is to disseminate information to parents and teens as it relates to health and nutrition in making the best choices possible.  Karen Walker, Registered Dietician for LSU Ag Center, is designing the program for underprivileged teens in the area along with Bertina, representative of EFNEP; the meeting was held to gain some insight from community members regarding what we felt were the most important issues that should be targeted within their educational program.    After some discussions and input the top three topics were adolescent nutrition, childhood obesity, and parental support and involvement.  I look forward to hearing what comes of the program, how I can help, and participating in our follow up meeting to be held in January.

Due to my meeting today, I was able to sleep in and to capture my breakfast in daylight hours.

DSC01864

Greek Yogurt and Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffin mixed with two tablespoons of granola and half a fuji apple.

DSC01867

The apple with the granola reminded me of a candied apple—so good!

DSC01869

I even had time to brew some pumpkin spice coffee with fat free half & half and truvia.

DSC01873

At the meeting I ate 1 mini zucchini muffin made by the RD.  She said she would email the recipe.

Lunch included leftovers from last night green beans and potatoes with pickle meat + creamed cauliflower.

DSC01875

Plus some blueberry greek yogurt.

DSC01874

I stayed late at work to catch up on some planning and paperwork, so I grabbed some pretzels out of the vending machine.

DSC01876

When I arrived home, I found Mom bearing gifts.  She took another trip to Chicago and I babysat her dog.  So I got a jumbo sized Trader Joe’s insulated bag filled with treats and eats.

DSC01877

DSC01878 DSC01879

DSC01881 DSC01880

I had to have one of the oatmeal raisin cookies—so soft and good for you!  I was in no mood to cook dinner tonight so I pulled a Caitlin and had a sweet potato topped with baked beans and steamed broccoli drizzled with teriyaki sauce (which was too gingery). 

DSC01884 

As for the potato and beans, Caitlin was right; it is a winning combination! 🙂

DSC01885

Question of the Night: Which of these topics seems most important to you?

*Adolescent Nutrition

*Childhood Obesity

*Teen Athletes

*Teen Pregnancy

*Putting Gardens in Schools

*Adult Nutrition

*Parental Support and Involvement

3 thoughts on “EFNEP

  1. Pingback: Hi Salubrious Foodie Friends « The Healthified Haven

Leave a Reply

