My Lucky Day

Before I explain why I am feeling lucky today, let me begin by sharing my meals for the day.  I was in the mood for some cold cereal and milk, but when I got to the kitchen I remembered we were all out of milk.  Instead I decided on 1/3 cup of greek yogurt with a pumpkin chocolate chip muffin with a spoonful of canned pumpkin and a spoonful of this decadent macadamia nut honey (I purchased at Marshall’s the other day) mixed into the yogurt.

9-21-10 007

9-21-10 006

I wasn’t sure about this breakfast as far as satisfying me, but the flavors were delicious and it was filling.

9-21-10 004

Chai + Yogurt Bowl

Lunch looked a lot like lasts night’s dinner.  A “taco” salad made with spring mix, cucumber, grape tomatoes, a reduced fat colby jack cheese stick, a 1/2 cup of reduced sodium pinto beans with salsa and light sour cream for dressing—two tablespoons of each.

9-21-10 001 

Beans for Protein, Not So Much Flavor

9-21-10 003

 

On side I had 8 pumpernickel pretzel sticks with a spoon of white chocolate wonderful peanut butter for dipping.  This was a fun snack to eat; it reminded me of those individually wrapped processed cheese and cracker sticks that I always loved as a kid.  

9-21-10 002 

See the resemblance.

                                 

These things were one of my favorite snacks when I was younger and I made Mom buy me some every time I saw them hanging in the baskets near the refrigerated dairy aisles.

After work I had a Kashi Bar to tide me over through exercising.

9-21-10 008

I feel like I have been slacking on cardio, so I dedicated today to cardio and stretching with some abdominal floor work.  My cardio session included 20 minutes on the elliptical, 10 minutes on the bike, and ten minutes walking on the treadmill.  I feel good!

I had good intentions on cooking tonight, but stopping at the grocery for some staples after my workout led me to purchasing a rotisserie chicken for dinner instead.

When I got home after 7:00 I was feeling quite hungry so I immediately ate some pita chips (about ten) with salsa that was purchased to put atop a chicken wrap/taco.

9-21-10 009

I steamed some corn and then got to work on my taco.

9-21-10 010

While assembling this I picked the chicken from one leg and ate it on the spot.  I added half a breast to my low carb. whole wheat tortilla wrap.  I added about a 1/3 cup of corn, a tablespoon of freshly grated mild cheddar, two tablespoons of the salsa verde, iceberg lettuce, and a tablespoon of plain greek yogurt.  I am feeling pretty full, but may have a snack before the night ends.

9-21-10 011

Side note: I often do have a snack after dinner, but it may not make it to the blog if I’ve already posted and shut down the computer.

Now as for my lucky day, first I get to work to find out I won the football pool from yesterday’s Saint’s game.  This is my third win this season, but I still need to win one more time to profit off of how much I actually paid for my 5 squares on the pool.

My other news involves a phone call from a Registered Dietician from the LSU Agricultural Center.  She was given my name from the chef who is conducting nutrition classes with our students and wanted to invite me to serve on the Food and Nutrition Education Advisory Committee.  The meeting is on Wednesday morning so I should have more information to share then.  The meeting just so happens to be at the gym where I work out, so I seeked out the conference meeting room before my workout this evening.  All I was told is she is trying to gain some insight with providing Food and Nutrition Education to teens in Jefferson Parish High Schools.  I happily accepted and will soon find out what all the advisory board entails.

Question of the Night:  What was your favorite childhood snack?

2 thoughts on “My Lucky Day

Leave a Reply

