Signs of Fall Abound

9-21-10 005

Fall has surely arrived  and mighty quickly!  I cannot believe we only have 2 short months left in 2010.  As I get older the days seem to move much quicker.  In my efforts to browse through Marshall’s after my workout today with maybe one, two purchases I ended up buying a slew of things thanks to my shopping partner a.k.a. Mom.  She works at the gym where we workout. 

Today’s exercise routine included 15 minutes on the elliptical, 30 minutes approximately of strength training, and 15 minutes on the arc trainer.  My strength training looked like the usual with:

Pectoral 30 lbs; 3 sets of 15
Bicep Curl 10 lbs; 3sets of 12
Tricep 30 lbs; 3 sets of 15
Leg Extension 30 lbs; 3 sets of 10
Leg Curl 45 lbs; 3 sets of 12
Total Abs 60 lbs; 3 sets of 20
Abductor 60 lbs; 3 sets of 15
Adductor 60 lbs; 3 sets of 15
Low Row 45 lbs; 3 sets of 10

After my work out, I stopped in the salon to see if Mom was still there, but she had already gone.  As I was about to  step foot in the parking lot I see Mom walking out of the children’s clothing store right next door.  We ended up walking over to Marshall’s where she twisted my arm *wink*wink* into purchasing some Fall decor for my kitchen table, not to mention she helped fund it.  Thank you Mama!

So I came home and ate some leftover Chicken Tetrazzini with Spaghetti Squash and a couple bites of roast from Monday.  No picture was snapped because I was feeling famished due to no snackage after work.  I forgot to grab something because I had a meeting this A.M. and didn’t pack a lunch.  Once my belly was full I got to work on removing tags and setting up the table.

9-21-10 001

 9-21-10 004

9-21-10 003

 9-21-10 002

It looks fabulous; I just hope my devil child, Herbie (shi tzu/puggle mix), doesn’t get to it (which he has been known to do).

My original intentions of going to Marshall’s was to look at something else that comes at the onset of Fall.

9-21-10 006

Boots—these are actually three years old, but I do not wear them all that often, but I did today and got quite a few compliments.  Specifically, I was looking for brown boots because I threw mine out due to the very thin sole that was left of them and scuffed toes.  I wore those bad boys out; they were just so comfortable and that is often hard to come by with boots.  There was no such luck in the boot buying process, but I did come across another goody.

9-21-10 007 

No, Marshall’s does not sell Libby’s (that was just added to show signs of fall, like the title says), but they did have a ton of other fall treats. Like this pumpkin spice coffee.  I also saw pumpkin butter, pumpkin brittle,  pumpkin chocolates, pumpkin candles, pumpkin plates, pumpkin shirts, and an abundance of other pumpkin/fall/Halloween items that I really do not even care to have.

As for my eats, I am not going to post pictures.  But will tell you…

Breakfast: nectarine, white chocolate wonderful pb, cinnamon on sandwich thin + earl grey tea + mug of chai tea to go

Lunch:  Subway…Eat Fresh 6 inch turkey on wheat, no cheese with lettuce, tomater, green pepper, pickles, black olives, and honey mustard + baked lay’s + large diet coke

Dinner: Chicken Tetrazzini with Spaghetti Squash + 3 bites of roast

Snack:  soon to come

Finally, I know many say pumpkin is the sign of fall, but to me it also means apple spice (and anything nice). ;)  So the time has come to share the Apple Spice Muffin recipe from last Saturday.

9-21-10 011

Apple Spice Muffins

Servings: 12 muffins

Dry Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg (may opt for 1/8 tsp.)

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 fuji apple chopped (and peeled if desired)

Wet Ingredients:

1/2 cup plain greek yogurt

1 egg

1/2 cup lowfat milk

1/2 cup melted Brummel & Brown (margarine or butter)

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions: Preheat oven to 350*.  Spray muffin pan(s) with non-stick spray.  Combine all dry ingredients in bowl except for apple.  Combine all wet ingredients in medium sized bowl.  Add dry mixture to wet and mix until just combined.  Stir in apple pieces to distribute evenly.  Fill 12 muffin tins evenly and bake for 15-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Nutrition courtesy of 411fit:   Cals: 126.05 g      Carbs: 20 g          Fat:  4.07 g   Pro:  3.64g         Sod:  210.69 mg

The addition of walnuts would add a nice flavor and texture to the muffins, but I was pleased with the taste without nuts.

9-21-10 010

Question of the Night: What is your favorite muffin flavor?

I have to go with the Banana Nut.

Leave a Reply

