Set It and Forget It

My inspiration for breakfast came from an overnight oats combination I have seen on some other blogs since Fall and the return of pumpkin on grocery store shelves.  I have never used pumpkin in any meals in my past, but thought I would give it a go because I FINALLY found pure canned pumpkin for sale at the grocery store.  I know last year I couldn’t find it for a Hungry Girl recipe due to the pumpkin shortage.  Alas, pumpkin was found.

9-21-10 002

In the mix to sit covered overnight in the fridge:

  • a little more than 1/4 c oats
  • 1/4 c plain greek yogurt
  • 1/4 c low fat milk
  • 1/4 c pure canned pumpkin
  • cinnamon
  • maple syrup
  • sliced banana
  • honey added this a.m. for extra sweetener

9-21-10 001

My opinion of the pumpkin in my oats this morning—I could not taste it.  It was a waste of pumpkin; it added nothing for me flavor-wise.  Perhaps it added some nutrients.  Here is a list of the healthy effects of pumpkin if interested.

Today I attended a workshop for bettering my teaching practices—it will be every Tuesday in October so more to come with that.  Lunch is being provided at these workshops and it came in the form of a box, so my options were limited to a sandwich or a sandwich.  Chicken salad, tuna salad, turkey, roast beef, or peanut butter and jelly were offered on white, wheat, or French bread.  By the time my table made our way to the food, the wheat option was just about null, and I went with turkey on French.  They were pre-made so mayo and mustard were already slathered on the bread along with shredded iceberg and a tomato slice.

lunch

On side, they included a bag of chips, and apple, and a cookie.

Lunch 2

I ate the sandwich which is always good when someone else makes ’em and the apple.  I thought I would eat the chips and cookie at break but ended up giving them away at the end of the day.  I was stuffed from the po’boy and apple.

Once arriving home and checking some emails I ate a slice of bread smeared with peanut butter and a half of a pear.

9-21-10 004

I ended up eating the other half of the pear before heading to the park to run/walk 2 miles.  I walked 5 minutes to warm up, jogged 10 minutes, walked 2 minutes, jogged 4 minutes, and walked about 3 more minutes and the two miles was complete.  I then did a few minutes of stretching before heading to my sister’s house to drop off some clothes and visit the new baby and family.

After a long visit including some hide-n-seek with my soon to be 3 year old nephew, munching on some candy, and cuddling with the baby I headed home for dinner.

9-21-10 003

I started with a veggie burger salad that I ended up throwing away because I put Frank’s Hot Wing sauce on it and it tasted off.  Can wing sauce go bad?  The date said use by November 2010, so it was not expired, but certainly not good.

I ended up frying an egg and two slices ham to pile onto a sandwich thin—much tastier.

9-21-10 005

9-21-10 006

Finally, I wanted to share last night’s dinner.  On Sunday, I cooked a roast for nine hours in the crockpot which was enjoyed last night over brown rice.

9-21-10 014

I began by peeling and chopping 6 carrots, an onion, and mushrooms.  The veggies were put in the bottom of the pot.  The roast was rinsed and placed atop the veggies.  I then seasoned with salt, pepper, and 1 tbsp. of minced garlic.9-21-10 001

Next I poured two cans of soup over the entire mixture.

9-21-10 002

French Onion and Cream of Mushroom(Reduced Sodium or Fat if desired)

9-21-10 003

Cook on low for at least 8 hours.  I sliced my roast after about 7 hours and let it cook for 2 hours more to get a tender roast with a ton of gravy and veggies.

9-21-10 005

Top over toast, pasta, rice, mashed potatoes, or creamed cauliflower.

9-21-10 018

9-21-10 012

I love easy, tasty cooking with the “Set It and Forget It” method!

Question of the Night:  What is your favorite crockpot meal? 

4 thoughts on “Set It and Forget It

    • I just looked at your blog but did not see a comment section. I just wanted to let you know that in my opinion consuming 500 calories a day doesn’t seem realistic or healthy, but of course it is your body. I encourage you to check out 411fit.com. You can enter stats, goals, and your meals along with exercise. The program will set up how many calories to consume in each day in order to healthily lose 1 or 2 pounds a week. I hope you check it out! Have a great day!

  1. I’m a new reader and really like your blog! I also love the lighting on your PB, Pear & Bread pic.

    Also, I do believe hot sauce can go bad. I refrigerate mine but the cafe where I work doesn’t and it always tastes wrong even before the expiration date.

Leave a Reply

