Walking in New Orleans

On Friday and Saturday, after enjoying some of these…

9-21-10 010

Apple Spice Muffins (will share recipe in another post)

and lots of this…

9-21-10 003

and all of this…

Lemon Cupcake with Raspberry Filling9-21-10 006

I desperately felt the need for a good workout.  After baking muffins and finishing some leftover pizza from Friday night, I met Mom at work so we could get our “swole” on. ;) 

Mom and I had to take another trip to the jeweler downtown so we decided to do that before working out.  Once downtown I mentioned how gorgeous the weather was and that we should just go walking the quarter to get our exercise rather than head back to the gym.  It was way too beautiful to be indoors.  So we decided to go walking in New Orleans.

There is nothing like walking around downtown hearing the sidewalk bands play well-known songs customary of New Orleans, listening to people chatting and laughing, hearing the sounds of the ferries and streetcars, children tapping on the street to earn a buck, or the bars filled with cheering crowds.  Not to mention all the sights one might come across.

F quarter 

Mom and I walked up and down the river and made a stop at the flea market.  We came upon a dance competition where people mostly in their twenties and thirties were swinging away. 

Dancing Dance 2 Dance 3

We then headed through the flea market where you can find all kinds of neat things.

 Fruit

HandmadeJewelry

Pics  Handmade 2 Masks

We continued with our walk past Jax Brewery.

Jax Brewery

Walking

Mom in the zone.

River

View of the river and Crescent City Connection. My apologies for poor picture quality; I only had my iphone on me.

me 

Once we got to the end of the Riverwalk, we both agreed we needed some fueling.

We stopped at the Time Out Sports Bar and Grill right outside the Riverwalk Mall and sat al fresco taking in the sights and sounds.

We started with a refreshing Arnold Palmer.

arnold palmer

And shared some Ultimate Nachos.Ult nachos

nachos

They definitely could have used something else.  More beans, the addition of salsa.  The cheese was concession stand, movie theater cheese.  I hoped for real cheese since the menu described it as cheddar cheese.  I guess my hopes were set to high and I should have gathered that it would be fake since the waiters were dressed like referees in black and white striped shirts and most of the patrons were decked out in purple and gold as they cheered on the LSU football team as the sounds played in the background.   

After finishing our drinks we headed back to the car to get home.   Once I got home my hub suggested he and I go for a bike ride around the neighborhood.  It was nice to get out and do that with him.  And we decided we would take the bikes to the levee along the river to do it more.

I really shouldn’t have eaten the nachos earlier in the day because hub and I had plans for a dinner date.  After showering, we headed to Sun Ray Grill right around the corner.

We started with the delta mushrooms. 

9-21-10 005

Broiled with butter and parmesan served with French bread for topping.  It was tasty and buttery to say the least.  I had two slices of the bread with the mushrooms.

Next up, I tried the soup special, Butternut Squash Soup.  Hub had the gumbo.

9-21-10 007

The soup was a bit too creamy for me, I thought it would more of a broth based soup.  I couldn’t even eat half of it.  Also, there was no meat in it, but it tasted like meat based stock was used—much like the sausage that was in hub’s gumbo.

Finally for my meal I ordered the pan roasted fish orleans served with whipped potatoes and veggies.  When the dish came out it looked nothing like brown buttered fish with potatoes and veggies.  It was more of a casserole that was brought to me.  So I waited for the waitress to return and asked what the dish was before me.  It turned out she thought I wanted the Mixed Seafood Pan Roast.  They took the casserole back and I decided I would just share hub’s Cioppino Pasta  rather than have the fish. I did eat a massive amount of nachos earlier in the day, so I wasn’t that hungry anyways.

9-21-10 009

My portion on a salad plate.  The pasta was a creamy tomato sauce with shrimp that were cooked just right, mushrooms, and fried calamari with a tasty green sauce on top.  Looking at the menu, I do not remember tasting any crab in the dish, but maybe I just did not get any in my portion.

Overall, I enjoyed the food, although it is rich.  I am sure one could find some lighter fare if desired.  The service was great as there were not that many other people dining.  The chef even makes a visit to all tables to see how the meal is.  Hub and I agreed we would be back to try some other items on the menu.

All in all, Saturday was a wonderful day with plentiful eats and spending time with people who matter most.

Question of the Day:  When dining out, do you eat what you want or try to order healthier fare?

2 thoughts on “Walking in New Orleans

  1. I am so glad I found your blog! I am also from Louisiana, and was in New Orleans this past weekend too! Hope you had a great time and keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

