Busy Baker & Beurre Noisette

Tomorrow the faculty and staff at my school is hosting a bake sale to raise money for our positive behavior store where our students can earn money and buy gizmos and gadgets of their choice.

I saw this cookie recipe on Julie’s blog at PBFingers; she found it on Jenna’s blog at Eat Live Run.  I am not one to bake, but when I heard that the chocolate chip cookies included browned butter, also known in French as “beurre noisette” (literally translated as butter hazelnut or “hazelnut butter” in English), I knew this was something I must try.  So in preparation for my school’s bake sale fundraiser, I thought I’d give it a go.  I only made one batch, so there aren’t that many to go round.

The first time I had beurre noisette it was in a more savory black drum with sweet potatoes that had been sauteed in beurre noisette at a local New Orleans restaurant called Grand Isle Restaurant.  The butter is heated in a saute pan until the milk solids separate from the fat, then sinking to the bottom and becoming a toasty, brown, hazelnut color.  It gives off the most amazing smell and nutty or caramel-like taste.This was one of the most amazing meals I have ever eaten.  Yet it was quite simple and reasonably priced.  An A+ in my book!  My hub and I have tried to recreate the dish, but we can never get it quite right.

Back to the chocolate chip cookies.  The butter is browned prior to adding sugar and the flour giving the cookies that same amazing flavor I remember.  View Jenna’s blog above for the specific recipe.  In addition to the cookies, I fixed up a batch of rice crispy treats with a sprinkling of chocolate chips.  I figured that would be a hit among the students.

Goodies for Bake Sale Fundraiser

For a recap of my eats today, take a look at the pictures below.  (Lol, that sounds like directions on a test or something.  Sorry, you are not my students!) I also had a banana which went unpictured prior to baking.  And of course I tried one of the cookies plus some chocolate chips!

Tea + Yogurt Bowl

Nectarine, Oats, Dark Chocolate Dream Peanut Butter, Cinnamon, Cottage Cheese, Plain Yogurt

Wrap + Carrots + Honey Greek Yogurt

Deli Chicken, Laughing Cow Light Swiss, Romaine, Tomatoes

Meatless Taco Salad

Black Beans for Protein

Leave a Reply

