The King Bar

I am thoroughly enjoying my new windows and the beautiful weather that has finally arrived this weekend!  The cool breeze of fall showed up this morning. :0)  To recap yesterday’s eats, my day began with a hot cup of French Market Coffee and Chicory.  I steamed a 1/4 cup of low-fat mlk and added the coffee with some stevia for a delectable Cafe’ Au Lait.

For breakfast I enjoyed an egg and spinach omelet with a slice of whole wheat toast and a schmear of Brummel & Brown.

Laughing Cow Light Queso and Chipotle + Spinach Inside

After some much needed housework, I gobbled up another bean and cheese enchilada.  Mmmmm, those enchiladas are so sinfully tasty!

And a plum on the side.

Can you spy my Niko (german shepherd) in the background?  He ain’t nothing, but a hound dog.

Nothing like a little bit of Elvis to get ya’ in the singing mood! 😉

I’ve been thinking about the popular Larabars and it dawned on me.  Why not try to create my own?  They contain just a few, all natural ingredients and require no cooking.  So my first attempt at a Lara-like bar was a success, in my opinion.  In the name of Elvis, I created a peanut butter banana flavored bar–a.k.a. The King Bar.

A little known fact, the King, himself, was an absolute fan of peanut butter banana sandwiches.  I, too, enjoy those tasty sandwiches as you may have noticed it is a breakfast staple.  Once, many months ago my mom and I visited a little shop called the Cupcake Factory.  One of the cupcakes on display was named the Elvis Presley cupcake.  And I asked, “Hmmm, why is that named after Elvis?  It is a banana cupcake with peanut butter frosting, and he was known to eat his fair share of peanut butter and banana sandwiches.  With that, I introduce The King Bar.

The King Bar

Servings: 5 bars Calories: 166

Ingredients:

30 dates

1/4 cup dry roasted salted peanuts

1/2 banana

Directions:  Put pitted dates in food processor.  Pulse until a fine ground consistency is reached.  Remove dates to a mixing bowl.  Next, pour peanuts into processor and process until finely ground.  Pour grounded peanuts into bowl with the dates.  Lastly, pulse banana until chopped and add to bowl.  Lay out parchment paper at this point.  Mix all ingredients until evenly distributed.  Scoop mixture onto paper and form into a 6 X 3 1/2 inch rectangle.  Wrap paper to seal bars.  Use a ruler and pen to divide rectangle into 5 bars on outside of paper measuring 1 3/16″ X 3 1/2″.  Place in freezer for 20 minutes.  Meanwhile, lay out 5 pieces of plastic wrap to individually wrap bars.  Once removed from the freezer, unwrap paper and cut bars to wrap individually using a large knife; use lines as a guide which should be seen through the other side of the paper.  Store in refrigerator until time of consumption.

Slicing and Wrapping Individual Bars

The King Bars are naturally sweetened from the fruits being used.  No additional sugar is needed.  They are a tasty, filling, snack for a great energy booster.  My bars were not quite as dense as the true Larabars, but the flavor was 100% all there.  I think more dates would have made it more dense, but I wanted to keep the calorie counts under 200, since they do serve as snacks, rather than meal bars.

The hubby and I shared one of the bars to test it out.

Verdict= Thumbs up!

After a busy day of housework, I was not in the mood to cook anything that would take much time.  So, I baked 3 Boca Chik’n Meatless Patties for 12 minutes at 350*.  Two were for hub to eat on sandwich thins and I ate the other on a salad, which is what my body was in the mood for since I hadn’t had one in a couple days.

Salad mix of baby spinach, cucumber, grape tomatoes, carrots, squash, chik’n patty, and 2 tbsp. Light Asian Sesame Dressing.

Rainbow of Flavor

After the hubby went on to work his night shift, I swung by Mom’s to pick up some groceries she had for me.

THANKS MOM! I ❤ FREE FOOD!

A Bag of Romaine, 2 Ears of Corn, Raspberries, Avocado, Kashi Granola, a bag of opened Veggie Stix (she didn’t like and thought I might), and unpictured pack of Wheat Sandwich Thins

Most were buy one get one free at the store, so I benefited from the “get one free.”  As for the veggie stix, I sampled them and they have the crunch of a chip, but the flavor is not the greatest and the smooth, waxy coating on the outside kind of scares me.  But I’ll keep them for when I need a little salt and crunch in my life, or they become stale–whichever occurs first.

Finally, I felt the need for some dessert.  These mint ice cream sandwiches have been in my freezer for a little over a month and I decided to have one.

Chocolate + Mint = Winning Combination in My Eyes or Mouth That Is 😉

My Mom showed me this video and I thought I’d share–pretty incredible!

Question of the Day:  Does your animal have any talents?

My Niko can sit pretty, roll over, heel.  But nothing like the one above.  🙂

One thought on “The King Bar

  1. Pingback: Acts of Kindness « The Healthified Haven

Leave a Reply

