Thai’d and True

Breakfast this A.M. was a warm bowl of oatmeal in my fairly new deep, red bowl.  And guess what?  The bowl worked like a charm.  There was no overflowing oats all over my microwave, so the two bowls were definitely a good buy.

Included in the mix was:

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup almond milk

Pinch of salt

Drizzle of honey

1/2 of a Dark Chocolate Cherry Muffin Cookie, crumbled(add after heating)

1 tsp. of peanut butter(add after heating)

Small handful of blueberries(add after heating)

Eat Me Already

All Mixed Up Bite

Warm, comforting, and deliciously sweet. 🙂

Since I still didn’t make it to the grocery last night, I ate leftover BBQ Turkey Meatloaf, Mashed Sweet Potatoes, and a fuji apple for lunch.

The meatloaf was even better today, which I find it always  is better on Day 2 because it has time to marinate in all its seasonings/sauces.

After work I headed to the gym and ate this small snack for some much needed fueling.  The remnants of this trail mix has been sitting in my kitchen cupboard for several months, so I finally finished it up.

My workout included 15 minutes on the true slider elliptical, 35 minutes of strength training (same machines as last Wednesday), and 15 minutes of warm up on the treadmill.

Then, it was on to the grocery store.  Before going inside, I checked my email to see which of the 8 international recipes (received from a wellness site) I wanted to create for supper tonight.  I knew I’d be a while at the grocery and also that I have not had much greens in my life the past few days.  So I definitely wanted a quick and simple salad.  I went with the Spicy Thai Shrimp Salad.  Truthfully, I have never eaten Thai food, so was a bit unsure as to what its distinctive flavors included.  I followed the recipe as seen HERE on Eating Well.

For my salad, I purchased frozen, pre-cooked peeled shrimp to save some cooking time and ran them under cold water to defrost at home.  However, it really takes little time to cook shrimp, so it would have been just as much time as it took to defrost the cooked ones.  I picked up a red bell pepper, a cucumber, fish sauce, 2 limes, fresh cilantro (the basil looked old, so skipped it) and a box of light brown sugar since I was running low.  Once home, I whisked the juice of 2 small lemons, the fish sauce and oil, and spices together; then I added the shrimp, vegetables, and herbs.  (I did add some dry basil in the mix as well.)

I enjoyed a slice of whole grain bread on side smeared with a small bit of Brummel & Brown.

Shrimp Salad

Colorful Veggies Been Thai'd Up

My opinion of the salad is that it is very refreshing over a bed of lettuce. Having said that,  the fish sauce has a pungent smell and taste and may need some getting used to.  I have had fish sauce on my cucumber salads from Japanese restaurants, but didn’t remember it being that aromatic.  While eating I felt compelled to look up the influences of Thai food.  Regardless of what region influenced the cuisine, one ingredient prevalent in most Thai foods is fish sauce.  Much of Thai foods are enhanced with highly odorous/flavorful ingredients some being lime, cilantro, and spicy peppers.

Coincidentally, how ironic is it that my plate purchased for $3 at TJ Maxx before heading to the grocery and deciding on this recipe was “Made in Thailand?”  I didn’t even realize it until I got home and was washing my plate prior to using it.

Question of the Night:  Do you enjoy Thai food?  If yes, what is your favorite dish?  If no, what is your favorite international delight?