How Cool Is That?

Before my whole healthy transformation, I NEVER used to eat breakfast all through high school and college.  So not cool!  Now I cannot go without it or I feel sick.  Hence, today started as every other–with breakfast.   I wanted to try the Blackberry Spread purchased yesterday, so I decided on peanut butter toast.  When I opened the jar of jam, I dabbed my finger in for a taste as my bread toasted.  It was overwhelmingly sweet to my palate!  However, I thought the peanut butter may balance the sweetness a bit; and I went with it anyway.

The peanut butter definitely balanced out the sweetness, though I am still not entirely convinced that I like it.

Right before lunch today I had the pleasure of meeting with a chef who wants to come to our school to do parenting classes on cooking healthy, promoting nutrition, and exercise.  How cool is that?  He said the services are 100% free and paid for by the State of Louisiana.  I am so excited that he is going to do this; I just hope we have parents who are interested in attending.  I’d like to attend myself.  I’ll keep you updated if I get any good tips at the classes if everything goes through as planned.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

For lunch I enjoyed some leftover pasta from last night, some grape tomatoes, and a dark chocolate square (unpictured).

Pasta + maters

Chickpea, Spinach, Feta Pasta

After work I had a meeting so I packed a snack of Triscuit crackers and a Babybel Light Cheese Round.  Mmmmm, cheese is so yummy!

Yummy in My Tummy

After my meeting I stopped at the gym for 30 minutes elliptical and 10 minutes on the bike.  I also did about 10 minutes of stretching and ab work.

It was near 8 when I got home and I was feeling a bit famished.  I quickly made a “taco” salad using a Morningstar Meatless Grillers Burger.  In my dish, I added two cups of spring mix, 1 sliced small green bell pepper from the garden, a packet of wholly guacamole, 2 tbsp. shredded Sargento Reduced Fat Mexican Cheese, 2 tbsp of salsa, and 1 tbsp of light sour cream.  Oh, I forgot about the handful of crushed blue corn chips.  I ate this salad so fast and it was so tasty.  I’m lovin the 100 calorie packets of guacamole and there is only avocado, jalapeno puree, dehydrated onion, salt, and garlic powder according to the ingredient list.

Not the brightest or best looking salad, but it sure was delicious!

**************************************************************************************

Growing up children are always trying to fit in and wear the “cool”  stuff.  There are so many fads that come and go, yet we have all been a part of one trend or another.  Here is a look at some of the “cool” trends of my childhood.

Slap bracelets: Cool or uncool?

Shirt clip: cool or uncool?

Dr. Martens: Cool or uncool?

Nike Earrings: Cool or uncool?

Collecting and trading fuzzy stickers: Cool or uncool?

These are some of the “cool” trends I participated in growing up; I am sure I could list a ton more, but that’s enough for now.  How cool was I?  😉

Question of the Night:  What are the “cool” trends you participated in when you were a child?

2 thoughts on “How Cool Is That?

Leave a Reply

