Ah Ha!

A little A-Ha to start!  This band actually started up the year I was born so I was only a baby as they became popular, but I do know and like a few of their songs.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

My morning began with some warm rolled oats, again spilling all over the microwave.

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup milk

small sliced peach

handful frozen blueberries

teaspoon of peanut butter

drizzle of honey

This breakfast is so tasty and filling with a bit of sweetness.

Today I ventured away from my own school to grounds of a near-by high school for an all-day math workshop.  I heart days like today.  It just gives me a small break from the hustle and bustle of teaching all day and I get an extended lunch instead of the rushed 30 minutes we, teachers, generally get.  I like days like today even more so because I am enhancing my teaching profession by gaining new pedagogy and instructional techniques.

During our lunch break, a friend/coworker and I dined at Quizno’s and then set out onto a little retail therapy for the remainder of the hour. 😉 I did not get a picture but I ate a Roadhouse Steak Sammie and a Pan Asian Chicken Salad with only about half of the dressing being used.

******************************************************************************

My workout commenced immediately after the workshop.  I went to the gym and did 15 minutes on the true slider elliptical at level 19, 30 minutes of strength training on the machines, and 15 minutes on the treadmill at 4 mph at 12% incline.

If you are curious my strength training includes 3 sets of each of the following:

Bicep curls 12 reps @ 15 lbs.

Triceps 12 reps @ 30 lbs.

Pectoral 15 reps @ 35 lbs.

Adductor (Inner Thighs) 18 reps @ 60 lbs.

Abductor (Outer Thighs) 18 reps @ 60 lbs.

Total Abs 30 reps @ 65 lbs.

Leg Curl (hamstrings) 12 reps @ 45 lbs

Leg Extension (quadriceps) 10 reps @ 30 lbs.

***************************************************************

After my workout, I stopped at TJ Maxx because I desperately needed some deeper bowls to eliminate oats spillage in the microwave. Picked up a few other things as well.

Colorful Wheat Pasta, Blackberry Spread, and 2 Peanut Butter Cookie Larabars

When I got home, I indulged in one of my Larabars to hold me over until dinner was ready.

Using the vibrant, tree-shaped pasta I concocted a simple, but satisfying dish.  After boiling the pasta for approx. 8 minutes and reserving 3/4 cup of the pasta water, I sauteed a teaspoon of minced garlic in some olive oil.  Next, I tossed in the pasta, some feta cheese (1/2 cup?), rinsed canned chickpeas, and about 2 cups? baby spinach, oh and salt and pepper.  I tossed that with additional olive oil and the reserved pasta water for some thickening.

Enjoyed with a half sliced cucumber drizzled with balsamic vinaigrette.

Funny, a lady in front of me in line asked, “How are you going to cook that?”  I responded, “Something simple.  Maybe garlic and parmesan.  I might throw in some chickpeas.”  She went on to ask if I was a good cook.  “I’d like to think so at least, though not everything works!”  But this did.  🙂

*******************************************************************************

Now back to our regularly scheduled program, Ah Ha!  Today at the workshop we were directed to read an article and then answer three questions relating to it.

Question 1:  What was an “Ah Ha” moment for you within the article?  “It makes sense.”

Question 2:  What was a “You’ve Got to Be Kidding Me” moment in the article?  “You cannot even believe such a statement exists.”

Question 3:  What are the features  we should see within a classroom that is doing mathematics?

I know you can’t answer these questions as they relate to the article, but I pose them as they relate to health.

Questions of the Night:  1. What is one “Ah Ha” moment you have had as you aspire to be healthified?  2. What is one “You’ve Got to Be Kidding Me” statements you have either read or heard?  3. What are the features we should see within a healthy lifestyle?

1. When I began working out, I often thought I can’t do this because it hurts so bad and I can’t breathe.  As the days went on, my body became used to it and now craves it when I don’t get to the gym regularly.  My Ah Ha moment was when I finally realized that eating healthy and working out does and can reap benefits–more energy, higher metabolism, better digestion, weight loss, better mood and I am sure there are others.

2. I can’t believe that actual registered dietitians state such mistruth when giving out nutritional information such as the article  here on Men’s Health stating a great post workout hydrator is soda, ice cream, or beer.  Also, I get somewhat of the “You’ve got to be kidding me” when I hear people say they can’t eat rice or pasta because they are trying to lose weight.  I ate all food groups and lost a near 30 pounds.  “It is about moderation, healthy choices, and exercising people;” that is what I want to tell them!

3. Daily physical activity, whole grains, fruits, vegetables, socializing–I recently read that one’s mood can be boosted simply by going to the grocery and socializing with the cashier.  That makes sense.  When I stay home alone all day during my summer days, I often get in a bit of a funk.  But if I leave only for a short time and get out of the house to talk to someone, anyone, I feel much better about my day.

I look forward to reading your comments! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Ah Ha!

    • Thanks! Yes I often think to myself, “if the men on the opposite of the gym have to make that much noise and strain the way they do, perhaps the weight needs to be lowered and that can’t possibly be doing any good for the muscles.” But hey, who am I to judge!?! 🙂

  1. Hello!

    I found your blog through Julie at PB FIngers!

    Love your blog and your approach to live a healthy lifestyle! I pretty much do the same thing, I feel best when eating healthy too!

    LOVE TJ Maxx, can never go there without buying so much!

  2. Pingback: Say Hi to Your Mom an’ Nem « The Healthified Haven

  3. Pingback: Thai’d and True « The Healthified Haven

Leave a Reply

