Cabbage Patch Kids

Breakfast was quick and easy this morning even though I woke up early and could have taken the time to actually cook something.  All I felt like eating was craving was almond butter and banana on a slice of whole grain toast with a cup of hot chai.

There is bread and almond butter under there somewhere.

For lunch today I enjoyed a spring and spinach salad mix with a few grape tomatoes and cucumber slices.  On top, I added some chopped Hormel oven roasted turkey and a sprinkling of Sargento Reduced Fat Shredded Mexican Cheese Blend.  My dressing of choice today was 2 tbsp. of Light Italian.  For some extra protein (since I was going to the gym straight from work) and a bit of sweetness I had a Fage 2% Greek Strawberry Yogurt.

Lunch Time

Pay attention to details; it's more fun to eat that way!

I decided to try working out straight after work rather than get home and have to force myself to go back out.  I think I prefer that better; it is just a matter of getting my clothes together the night before.  Though when I arrived at the gym every single elliptical was taken!  Grrrrrr!  So I started my cardio session on one of the two treadmills that were not in use.  I did 10 minutes at 12% incline at a 4.0 pace.  Then I noticed someone hop off of the true slider elliptical, so I took advantage of the opportune time to hop on.  I did 30 minutes on the elliptical at level 20 for about 25 minutes and level 18 for the other 5.  Lastly I finished up with 10 minutes on the stationary bike at level 5.

When I got home from work I began on dinner.  This morning I took a package of spit chicken breasts out of the freezer to defrost.  I started by browning the chicken breasts in a tablespoon of canola oil.

While the chicken browned I prepped some bell pepper from the garden, half an onion, some carrot sticks, and 5 red potatoes.  Once the chicken was browned on both sides I removed it from the pan and it went into the pot shown above.  Using the same pan from the chicken, I sauteed the veggies except for the potatoes.

Meanwhile, I got some miniature cabbages AKA brussel sprouts sliced and seasoned for roasting.

I recommend using a smaller knife due to the rolling of the sprouts, but that was the knife used for cutting the other veggies and I was trying to eliminate the massive amount of dishes/utensils I use for cooking.

Once the veggies tender I added them on top of the chicken.  Here is wher it may get a bit unhealthified; however, you can still watch your portions.  Next, I put 1/4 cup canola oil and 1/4 cup of all-purpose flour into the *same* saute pan.  I stirred and stirred and stirred until I had a roux (to make gravy) the color of peanut butter more or less.  I then added one cup of water (***Warning***This will cause sizzle of splatter and smoke, so stand back!), a second cup of water, two and a half cups of water total as I removed the pan from the fire and continued stirring and stirring until I had a brown gravy.  Salt and pepper was also added, but much of the flavor comes from the browned bits from the chicken and veggies that were in the pan previously.

Gravy was poured over chicken and veggies and added potatoes.

I munched on these while the chicken simmered for about an hour.   I was able to get some cleaning done in the meantime.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

My Plate--A scoop of rice from last night topped with pulled chicken and veggie mixture.

Tasty if I do say so myself!

***********************************************************************

I recently heard that a doll fad of the 80s are making a comeback.  According to Cabbage Patch Kids they never really left the scene despite changing production brands several times throughout the last 30 years.  Funny how things always seem to return into the limelight from such long ago.

Cabbage Patch Kids were one of my favorites (I can’t recall any specifics, but I know Mom fought her way into some stores to get those dolls for my sis and me) growing up along with playing school of course. 😉

Question of the Night:  What was your favorite toy/doll growing up as a kid?

One thought on “Cabbage Patch Kids

Leave a Reply

