It’s a Hot One

It’s been a HOT past couple of days around the humid New Orleans Metro Area.

My car thermostat read 101* yesterday.  An “Excessive Heat Warning” was issued by our local weather station stating with the heat indices the temperatures can get up to what feels like 110*.  That’s a scorcher, for sure.

After running around in the heat all afternoon yesterday, I did not want to sit over a stove and have to cook.  So the hubby and I agreed upon a vegetable pizza made with store-bought pizza dough, marinara sauce, fresh mozzarella, veggies of all kinds, and a sprinkling of parmesan on top.

Eggplant, bell pepper, and banana pepper from the garden; fresh spinach, onion, and mushrooms; and canned black olives and artichoke hearts adorned our pizza.

Pre-Bake
Finished

My 2 slices and a side salad

Stringy Mozzarella

My hub and I both agreed it was delicious and he specifically said, “It tastes fresh!”

%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

Even though it has been steaming outside, I woke up this A.M. in the mood for some warm oats.  I 1/2 cup of rolled oats with water, milk, and salt as the package directed.  Cooking method was microwave oven.  Boy, did that leave me an overflowed goupy mess all over the microwave tray.  Needless to say, half my oats were wasted.  I topped the oats with half of a small, ripened peach, a drizzle oh honey, a teaspoon of almond butter, and a crumbled square of Banana Berry Bread from the freezer that was defrosted last night.

Not so pretty, but tasted pretty darn yummy!

Enjoyed with plain hot chai tea.

For lunch I put together a mix of things needing to be used up.  A bed of fresh baby spinach, spaghetti from last week’s BBQ Scallop and Mushroom Pasta, roasted eggplant from garden, ‘one more day and they’d be bad’ mushrooms, a half cup of jarred marinara sauce, and a Babybel Light Cheese broken up on top–all was heated prior to eating which caused spinach to wilt [yes!] and cheese to melt.

Banana Fana Fo Fana…

Couple of coworkers asked if I cooked.  Not really, just threw some things in a container that all seemed to mesh well together and oh it was such a tasty hot lunch–including the pepper that was left between my teeth and no one bothered to let me know about.  LOL! Seriously people, let me know these things!  I’d rather have that second of embarrassment than pick up my students and have all of them staring at me crazily mocking me behind my back.  Luckily, I stopped in the restroom before making my way to my children.  Sheesh!

Snack was the other half of my peach and some cherries.

Can you spot someone in the photo who shouldn’t be?

That would be Niko’s, my black German Shepherd, snout. He managed to get a sniff just as I snapped the picture.

My dad was nice enough to offer us dinner since he cooked up a large pot of red beans.  I picked up a bowl to bring home (and dropped off a bowl to my preggers sister, whom the doctor told to “take it easy”).  After visiting with my nephew and sister, I headed home to cook up some brown rice.

3/4 c rice + 1 c beans = my serving

Bits of Sausage and Ham Within

Side Salad with Raspberry Vinaigrette Drizzle

Thanks to my Daddy for the red beans and making my life easier–in more ways than one!

Question of the Day:  Do you let people know of that ever so embarrassing detail such as food in teeth, toilet paper on shoe, price tag on garment, etc.?

I am more apt to tell someone if I know them, but if you are a stranger, sorry.  A few months back I was picking up dinner one night and this woman in front of me had toilet paper sticking out of the top of her pants and I just couldn’t muster up the courage to tell her.  Poor lady!  Though, I would definitely want someone to let me know.

One thought on “It’s a Hot One

Leave a Reply

