Rainbows In Waiting

I am really getting used to waking up early.  Or is it the fact that I’m excited to make breakfast so that I can make sure it looks decent enough for the blog?  Or is it that I started taking a different route across the river cutting my travel time down and eliminating the constant stop of red lights which pumps  up my adrenaline making my drive to work all the more exciting and something I have been looking forward to this first week of school?  I think it has to do with all three!

So to start my day I jumped out of bed (literally and then jumped back in after hitting snooze) and got up on the second sound of the blaring radio which I’ve been forced to use during the no phone zone week.  Hopefully I’ll have a phone by the weekend, but may continue using the actual alarm clock anyway.  Now for breakfast, I felt like a simple banana and peanut butter sammie on a Pepperidge Farm deli flat.  Though the remnants of the Smucker’s Natural Peanut Butter remain in the fridge I really am not a fan of that brand, so went with almond butter instead.  Also had a cup of hot chai on the side.

After breakfast I got ready for work and headed out for my 35 minute drive.  At about thirty minutes out, in the distance over the expressway I could see a beautiful rainbow. Truly, it could not have been prettier as the prisms sparkled in the sky.  I thought about pulling out my camera, but didn’t think it was the brightest idea going 60 miles an hour on the expressway.  Seeing the rainbow this morning uplifted my mood and clearly was a sign that I would have a good day.  Do rainbows have that effect on you?  What else would there purpose be?  It seems they just sit in the sky waiting for passer-byes to take in their beauty.  Many cars did appear to slow down to take in the view; I know I did. 🙂

I enjoyed a rainbow of foods in my lunch box today.  I had some spring mix of greens and purple leaves topped with yellow corn, red grape tomatoes, brown rice, black beans which left the rice a slight shade of blue, tomato red salsa, and orange shredded cheese.  On side I had a fuzzy peach.


Once home from work I just couldn’t cool down with it being so hot and my house having outdated ’70s crank windows allowing all of the cool air to seep out through the cracks.    Thank goodness we are getting some new, updated energy efficient windows in a couple of week.  I know it will make a huge difference.  My hot flash enticed me to make something cold and sweet for my afternoon snack–a chocolate banana smoothie.  To the blender I added a frozen banana, a half cup of Arctic Zero Chocolate Frozen Dessert, a cup of plain almond milk, four ice cubes, and a few leaves of baby spinach that were left in the fridge.

After blending and tasting, I added a tsp.? of cocoa powder to add a bit more chocolate flavor.

And Then She Was Done

I caught up on some reading (of blogs), then went for a ten minute jog/5 minute walk session around the neighborhood and came home to do some of this.

Look Mom!  I’m using the Ab Lounger.  Thanks!  Mom is de-cluttering her house so I inherit her clutter.

And then some of this.

BBQ Scallop and Mushroom Pasta

I was trying to recreate the BBQ Shrimp Pasta sold at many restaurants as a spin off on regular BBQ Shrimp with French Bread, which is a well known dish in the New Orleans area.  Although it is called BBQ shrimp there is in fact no BBQ sauce in the dish.  The famous Pascal’s Manale BBQ Shrimp recipe is supposedly all over the net, but I doubt it is the tried and true.  It is a mix of white wine (I’ve heard it could be beer), worcestershire sauce, butter (I used olive oil instead), garlic, and spices.  But I wanted a healthified version without all of the butter and mounds of french bread for dipping.  So I modified a couple of recipes I glanced at on the WWW creating a BBQ Scallop and Mushroom Pasta dish using these ingredients + mushrooms.  I don’t think the Italian dressing is really needed, but saw it in one recipe so added some.  Though I think I would prefer it without.

Also, I would do fresh scallops instead of the miniscule ones I purchased in the frozen section.  Again, I did not measure.  Sorry, I try to go on taste rather than measuring.  And I can’t even give a good estimate so I won’t even try, but my ingredients included olive oil, minced garlic, worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, thyme, oregano, rosemary, onion powder, salt + pepper, white cooking wine, spaghetti, scallops, mushrooms, reserve pasta water as thickener, and italian dressing (to be omitted due to it’s tanginess; the worcestershire and wine give enough tanginess).  Oh, I even added a squirt of honey to balance out some of the tang.

I ate a cooking spoonful of the pasta, a simple lettuce salad with Light Italian dressing, and a half of Pepperidge Farm whole wheat deli flat with a schmear of Brummel & Brown.  Thinking about the original BBQ Shrimp made me want bread, so I satisfied the craving.  Oh yeah, see those little things that look like chickpeas; that is what my grocer is calling frozen scallops.

Whew! That was a long post and I am feeling hot (28 with hot flashes, hmmm?) and tired so need to get some R&R.  Good night!

One thought on “Rainbows In Waiting

  1. Pingback: It’s a Hot One « The Healthified Haven

Leave a Reply

