Sometimes You Feel Like a Nut, Sometimes You Don’t

A couple of meals today were Kath-inspired from Kath Eats.  To start, I have been meaning to try her Overnight Oats recipes.  Unfortuneately, the only kind of oatmeal I ever eat is instant because I just don’t have time to stand over a pot in the morning.  Weekly, I continue to read about bloggers eating these cold, creamy oats so I just had to try it. Alas, I gave in to the temptation and mixed up my instant Kashi cinnamon and honey oatmeal with Chobani 0% Greek Yogurt with Peach and 1/2 cup of milk.  I intended to add almonds and frozen blueberries this morning, but once I tasted the coldness and creaminess of the overnight oats I din’t think it needed a thing more.

Looks liquidy and plain, but really it was creamy and delicious.  I definitely need to get to the store to get some rolled oats to see if it is the same or if I am really missing out on something fantastic.

********************************************************************************

Last night as I went to make today’s lunch, I realized I was all out of deli meats.  My initial thought was to make a peanut butter sandwich, then I spotted the bright green of the individually wrapped wholy guacamole packets sitting in my fridge.  That’s what I would have.  An excellent tasting veggie sammie on a sandwich thin filled with chunky avocado guacamole, yellow cherry tomatoes, and string cheese pieces.  Technically more like a fruit sandwich, but you get the picture.  I ate a fuji apple on side.

Once home from work I enjoyed the last of my Larabars–chocolate coconut.  I really enjoy these all natural  five ingredient fixes.

**************************************************************************************

At times I feel like a nut trying to make sure I get everything done and get to the gym.  And at times my family even tells me how nuts I am for always wanting to work out.  But this week I have not been too enthusiastic or energized.  So I skipped working out the past two days due to birthday celebrations and it being my first week back at work.  This evening I was feeling extremely sluggish and really just wanted to go to sleep, but after about twenty minutes of relaxing with my snuggle buggle (Herbie) on the couch, I forced myself to get up and get to that gym.  Once there I felt much better, as I always do!

Today I did 20 minutes on the precor elliptical, 30 minutes of strength training on the weight machines, and ten minutes on the true slider elliptical.  I try to break the monotony of using one cardio machine so that different muscles are being worked.  Really, working out puts me in a better mood and makes me feel so much more energized.

*********************************************************************

Once I got home it was well past my normal dinner time, but I decided to cook anyway.  A second meal inspired by Kath.  Black bean burgers.  Home baked potato chips.  I cooked the seasoned sliced potatoes at 400* for 22 minutes flipping halfway through.  All that went on them was cooking spray, sea salt, and onion powder.  For the black bean burgers I used the following ingredients:

1 can reduced sodium black beans (drained and rinsed)

1 can corn

4 tbsp salsa

couple tablespoons of breadcrumbs

salt and pepper

I used a potato masher to mash and mix all the ingredients; I realized the mixture was not binding together very well to form patties, so I added a few more ingredients.

2 tbsp of all purpose flour + onion powder & chili powder for some extra flavor

I then formed four patties, cooked them on a nonstick skillet sprayed with cooking spray over medium high heat for four minutes on each side, and dinner was done.

My Plate

Black bean burger on a sandwich thin with ketchup, mustard, onion, and dill pickle slices and potato chips on side.

My opinion of the burger is………..I liked it, but I felt like something was missing.  Perhaps I needed more seasonings.  All of the added toppings definitely made me feel like I was getting the satisfaction of eating a hamburger, so I give that aspect a thumbs up.  But next time I may experiment with a little more flavor.

Question of the day: Have you ever made black bean burgers?  Did you enjoy them?  If so, what was your concoction?  I may just have to give it a try.  Thanks in advance for any suggestions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

