The Grown Up Fish

Anxiety of the new school year and going back to work on Monday has settled in.  So I awoke at 6:30 this A.M. and could not go back to sleep.  Needless to say, I have felt exhausted all day and hope to get a better night’s sleep tonight.  I thought maybe a golden yolky fried egg over medium would wake me up, so that is what I cooked for breakfast.  I didn’t have any bread to dip in the oh so tasty yolk, so I devoured (literally) my egg on half of a Flatout Light Original.  I was a bit bummed out as my yolky goodness fell to the plate and I had no bread to lap it up; I need to get to the grocery ASAP for both eggs and bread since I’m all out.  On the side of my b-fast egg (wrap?) I had some sweet, ripened strawberries albeit small which were slightly frozen from settling towards the back of the refrigerator.

Oh Yolk, You Are My Sunshine

I also had a tall cup of iced coffee with stevia and skim milk.

***************************************************************

When I was little, and still as an adult, whenever dining out at a nice restaurant I generally chose the fish of the day.  I remember once in middle school Dad had taken my sister and I to Houston’s for dinner one evening.  I, as always, ordered the fish of the day.  On this day; however, I did not like the taste of the bright, coral colored fish.  As it turns out, it was salmon.  I can’t recollect a time ever when Mom cooked salmon for dinner.  Perhaps there was a reason she never cooked it–it was just too much of a grown up fish.  After that night I’d always associated salmon with a food that adults dine on, similar to my conception of caviar or sardines or brussel sprouts; they’re just not for kids.  So from that day forward through high school and even college, I don’t think I had ever given it another shot.

But as I near age 30, I find my palate for foods have changed.  So through the years, I have come to accept and like salmon in all of its variations–baked, grilled, smoked, and even raw.  That brings me to today’s lunch.

Baked salmon with a broccoli, tomato, hearts of palm salad

I drizzled the salmon with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and minced garlic.  I probably overcooked it, as I always do, because I am never sure if it’s done properly and I do not want to ingest it raw.  The steamed broccoli was leftover in the fridge, so I just added the tomatoes and canned hearts of palm again with a drizzle of olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

And a fuzzy peach on side

******************************************************

Snack at Mom’s

Whole Wheat Crackers + Cheese

Plus 5? tortilla chips and 10? Plain M & M’s

After visiting my mom and 2 year old nephew (love him so much), I headed for cardio at the gym.  Today’s mix of 15, 15, 15 was treadmill, elliptical, and bike for a total of 45 minutes all whilst a brutal thunderstorm passed up above.  Once I got home, it was onto fixin dinner–Peanut Chicken Lo Mein(Spaghetti).  I didn’t measure as I made this, but am giving an estimated amount for the recipe.

Peanut Chicken Lo Mein

1 lb boneless, skinless chcken breast (chopped into bite size pieces)

1/2 lb of whole grain spaghetti (cooked)

1/2 c of celery (julienned)

1/2 c of carrots (julienned)

1/2 c of peanut butter

1/2 c of water

1 tblsp lite soy sauce

1 tblsp rice vinegar

1 tblsp honey

1 tsp red pepper flakes

Salt + pepper

Garlic powder

DirectionsCook pasta according to package.  Reserve about 1/2 cup of pasta water for later.  Whisk peanut butter with next five ingredients.  Add salt and pepper to taste and set aside.  Season chicken with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  Heat nonstick pan over medium heat sprayed with cooking spray.  Brown chicken for 7-10 minutes.  Add half of the reserve pasta water if necessary to prevent sticking.  Next, add celery and carrots and cook until tender.  Add pasta to pan and pour the peanut butter mixture in as well.  Toss all ingredients and cook until heated through.  If sauce is too thick add the remaining reserved pasta water.  Add salt and pepper as desired. Enjoy!

Cook pasta as directed.

Reserved pasta water--all of this was not used.

In the sauce

Browning the chicken

Add the veggies.

Finale

Grand Finale

And that’s all she wrote!  Good Night Ya’ll!

Question of the day:  How has your tastes changed from when you were a kid?  Is there a food you could not stand, but now enjoy?

Leave a Reply

