Green Monster Take 1

This morning I woke up at 9:00, but was not hungry for b-fast.  So I opted to make and drink some coffee (which I did not enjoy, just didn’t taste good today) and  wait a while to see if I would be in the mood for some FOOD.  The morning rolled on as I read my emails, read some blogs, read the news on NOLA.com, and checked out some other websites.  I don’t know about you, but when I’m on the net time just flies by.  By now it was around 11 o’clock and I decided I needed to get movin’.  I threw on some clothes and took Niko, the german shepherd, and Herbie, the shitzu/puggle, for a walk.  We went around two blocks and by that time I could tell that fatso Herbie was ready to get home due to the scorching heat and the fact that older brother, Niko, was practically running as lil’ Herbs tried to keep up.  So the last block I joined in the run home and thankfully Herbie made it too.

By now both the dogs and I were ready for some lunch.  I mixed up the dogs’ food and decided on a turkey taco salad for myself.  Into my small casserole dish, I added about 1 cup of romaine, about 1 cup baby spinach, 6 grape tomatoes, 4 slices (1 serving) of deli smoked turkey, 1 stick of reduced fat cheese broken into crumbles, 2 tblsp of hot salsa, 1 tblsp of light sour cream, and about 7 blue corn chips crumbled on top.  Can we say Mmmm, Mmmmm, Mmmmm!?!?  Take a look for yourself; I bet it will make you want some Mexican!  And the salsa and sour cream provides a nice dressing for about 30 calories rather than 130 of one of those full fat, creamy dressings.  So that entire salad is less than 300 calories and tastes much more fresh than one you could get at a fast food joint for over triple the amount of calories.

Giant salad

Details

And after the salad:

Thick, creamy greek yogurt

After lunch, I decided to tackle the Green Monster–not the green monster smoothie that I’ve read about in many other foodie blogs, but the Green Monster otherwise known as my backyard.  The grass really needed to be cut and I thought it would be a nice surprise for the hubby.  So out in the near 100* heat I went and cut the grass.  After about 35 minutes I was done and needed something to cool down.  So I next attempted the green monster known as a smoothie.  Into the blender went a handful of spinach, a banana, 7 strawberries + 1 for garnish, 1/2 scoop of vanilla whey protein powder, a cup of water, and 4 ice cubes.


I blended away to get none other than this.

Not so much of a green monster after all, more like a pink/brown monster.  Oh well, better luck next time.  It looks prettier in the pictures than what it looked like in real life.  Just so you know, I couldn’t taste the spinach at all.

I needed a snack a little while later after cleaning and mowing and walking.  Wheeew!

Celery + Carrots + Red Pepper Hummus

Got these bad boys at the grocery yesterday and chopped them earlier to have on hand in the fridge for a simple, healthy snack.  I’m always much more willing to eat ’em if they are chopped and easily accessible right front and center of the fridge.  Can I get a hoorah for the veggies?!?  🙂

The boys were pooped too after the grass cutting episode.  See–

Leave a Reply

